Dreams of Flying Dreams of Falling

Here is another comment to a review by Mr. Isherwood of Mr. Adam Rapp’s new play Dreams of Flying Dreams of Falling (you may find the original review here (http://theater.nytimes.com/2011/10/04/theater/reviews/dreams-of-flying-dreams-of-falling-at-classic-stage-review.html?ref=theater):

Once again, Mr. Isherwood, you are my hero! When I saw the picture of Ms. Lahti above, I too thought, “Good! Mr. Rapp is finally writing about socialites! This should be exciting! I imagine it will be quite an edifying evening, and perhaps I can finally learn how to set a place at a table correctly.” But your review, Mr. Isherwood, doesn’t make the play out to be like that sort of thing at all. Let me be clear: I don’t want to see anything challenging or extraordinary on a New York stage…ever! Leave that to some outer borough nonsense place, like Chicago. Or Brooklyn. Or London. I’ve witnessed some of Mr. Rapp’s plays before, and their emotional rather than linear structures have always thrown me for a loop! (That’s why I don’t listen to music anymore–too much emotion, too little didacticism.) Why can’t all plays be as neat and tidy as life really is? I hope more playwrights get the message–the theater is not for emotion or experience, but for teaching. If you’re not going to teach me something I feel I already know, what business do you have expressing yourself? It’s certainly not the place for exploring anything ugly. (Why can’t anyone write like Moliere these days?) Consensus: that’s the nature of reality, and that should be the nature of theater. Nothing untoward!! Frankly, though, I don’t know why the Times sends you, Mr. Isherwood, to see Mr. Rapp’s work: history shows you’ve never really liked it. And you probably never really will. Good! I, too, have had enough of these untidy plays! I, too, when in a theater, begin to hate anything that arouses in me an emotion–be it fear or pity. I’m quite suspicious of my emotional life and am content just to think, “that’s a nice way of phrasing that argument,” or, “isn’t that witty!” while in the stalls. Leave the emotions to the psychiatrists (and their patients). Thank you once again, Mr. Isherwood, for being a reasonable voice for true and correct theater!

I hope you agree!

Leave a Reply

