The Agony and the Ecstasy of Steve Jobs

I have come too late to Mr. Isherwood’s review of The Agony and the Ecstasy of Steve Jobs by Mr. Michael (Mike) Daisey.  But the review was concerning to me for a number of reasons.  I treat them below in a comment I submitted to Mr. Isherwood’s attention, but which has subsequently been lost, it seems.  Here it is:

Mr. Isherwood, I find it shocking that corporations, in order to maximize profit, should take such terrible advantage of workers from around the world.  So shocking do I find it, in fact, that I refuse to believe that it’s true.  At some point or another, we must realize that corporate interests are community interests and vice versa, that corporations are our good and benevolent big brothers.  That this play should have caused you to question this fundamental truth makes the play, to me, entirely questionable in turn.

Questionable, too, is that you enjoyed it at all.  Wasn’t there a time when we agreed that direct address should be banned from the theatre?  And here you are, praising a work which consists entirely of direct address!  This Mr. Daisey must be some sort of warlock.  He has bewitched you into believing, against all evidence, that corporations are not oriented toward the good of all, and he has robbed you of your common sense by making you forget your hatred of direct address.  I can only hope that the next woman-playwright to employ the tactic will, as usual, be soundly rebuked!

In the meantime, I will light a thin green candle for you in the hopes that the hex under which you are clearly suffering is broken.

I hope you agree!

Leave a Reply

